Damaged Hair? Not Anymore! (With Before and After Pictures)

When it comes to damaged hair, most of us are guilty as charged.  We bleach, color, straighten, curl, crimp, blow dry…  We pull out all the stops and do everything we can physically and possibly do to it.  And let’s not lie to ourselves, we look pretty damn good when we have our hair and make-up done, ready for a night out on the town.

The problem is we overdo it.  We put our hair through more than it can take without replenishing it.  Once we’ve damaged our hair, we feel like there’s absolutely no way to bring it back.   Just when we feel all hope is lost, we find the light at the end of the tunnel…

Enter… the keratin treatment.

I have naturally dark brown hair, and before my college graduation, I dyed and highlighted it.  Given the fact my hair is so dark, it was no shock that the hairdresser had to use bleach.  When she was finished with the color, I was very happy with the results.  I’ve always had the same dark brown hair I’ve had my whole life, so a little change made me pretty excited.  I curled and flat ironed it probably a little too much shortly after all the turmoil I put my healthy hair through.  Over time, I started to notice the condition of my hair dwindle.  It started to lose its shine, its life, and I found that it began to look thinner and thinner.

I had committed three crimes: bleaching, dyeing, and overstyling.  My hair became dull and lifeless.  I started taking biotin supplements and waiting for my hair to grow out.  I figured that was my only option.  Waiting, and waiting, and waiting.  My hair grew an inch, 2 inches, 3 inches…  and I couldn’t help but think OMG THIS TAKES FOR-EVER!  This will take YEARS.  Some people may not understand beauty-obsessed perfectionists like ourselves, but for us, this seems like decades.

Finally, this past weekend, I got a keratin treatment.  Let me warn you, it is expensive.  They’re about $150 and up on average for one that will last about six months.  The price is pretty steep, but I cannot tell you how happy I am with the results.  I feel like I finally have my hair back!  It’s soft, shiny and smooth–the same way it was before I put it through the chopping block.  I still cannot believe how beneficial this was for me.  If you’re willing to take the plunge, it is 100 percent well worth it.

Damaged hair before Keratin Treatment

Damaged hair before Keratin Treatment

Results after Keratin treatment

Results after Keratin treatment

Leave a Reply

